3rd International Rule Challenge @ RuleML 2009

The Rules Challenge is one of the highlights at RuleML-2009 with prestigious prizes. Submissions of benchmarks/evaluations, demos, case studies / use cases, experience reports, best practice solutions (e.g. design patterns, reference architectures, models), rule-based implementations/ tools/ applications, demonstrations engineering methods, implementations of rule standards (e.g. RuleML, RIF, SBVR, PRR, rule-based Event Processing languages, BPMN+rules, BPEL+rules, ...), rules + industrial standards (e.g. XBRL, MISMO, Accord, ...), and industrial problem statements are particularly encouraged.

The participants of the Challenge have the opportunity to understand the most current trend of rule technology and standard development through highly interactive with the experts in this field.


In addition to your demo/hands-on/report/... it is possible to submit Challenge demo papers describing research, implementation, and technical details of your submission. The peer-reviewed and selected papers will be published in additional special Challenge proceedings (will be published as CEURS proceedings) along with the online publication of your demo in the highly visible growing Rules Challenge pool. A selection of revised papers from the Challenge will be resubmitted to a special issue of a journal.

Authors are invited to submit original contributions of practical relevance and technical rigor in the field, benchmarks, evaluations, experience reports and show case/use case demonstrations of effective, practical, deployable rule-based technologies or applications in distributed environments. Papers must be in English.

Demo papers submission website:


Demo systems submission website:


Please upload all submissions as PDF files in LNCS format (http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html). To ensure high quality, submitted papers will be carefully peer-reviewed by 3 PC members based on originality, significance, technical soundness, and clarity of exposition.

Submissions to the Rules Challenge 2009 consist of a demo paper of 4-8 pages, describing the demo show case, and a link to more information about the demo/show case, e.g. a project site, an online demonstration, a presentation about the demonstration, or a download site for the demonstration. In case of product demos, the link can be password-protected: please submit a password for anonymous login from any Web browser, giving us the permission to pass the password on to 3 PC members.

Important Date

Submission deadline for demo papers and demo systems: September 11, 2009
Notification of accepted demo papers and demo systems: September 16 28, 2009
Submission deadline for demo systems only: October 22, 2009 (contingent on availability of demo slots)
Notification for demo systems only: October 29, 2009

Rule Challenge Chairs

Yuh-Jong Hu, National Chengchi University, Taiwan
Ching-Long Yeh, Tatung University, Taiwan
Wolfgang Laun, Thales Rail Signalling Solutions GesmbH, Austria

Rule Challenge PC

Sidney Bailin, Knowledge Evolution, USA
Claudio Bartolini, HP Labs, USA
Nick Bassiliades, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
Bernhard Bauer, University of Augsburg, Germany
Mikael Berndtsson, University of Skövde, Sweden
Pedro Bizarro, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Peter Bollen, University of Maastricht, Netherlands
Jordi Cabot, Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain
Carlos Castro, Unversidad Técnica Federico Santa María, Chile
Horatiu Cirstea, Loria, France
Mike Dean, BBN Technologies, USA
Juergen Dix, Technische Universitaet Clausthal, Germany
Schahram Dustdar, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Jenny Eriksson Lundström, Uppsala University, Sweden
Maribel Fernandez, King's College London, UK
Adrian Giurca, Brandenburg University of Technology at Cottbus, Germany
Tom Gordon, Fraunhofer FOKUS, Germany
Guido Governatori, NICTA, Australia
John Hall, Model Systems, UK
Ioannis Hatzilygeroudis, University of Patras, Greece
Stijn Heymans, Technischen Universität Wien, Austria
Minsu Jang, E&T Research Institute, Korea
Yiannis Kompatsiaris, Informatics and Telematics Institute, Greece
Manolis Koubarakis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
Thomas Lukasiewicz, University of Oxford, UK
Ian Mackie, Ecole Polytechnique, France
Christopher Matheus, Vistology, USA
Jin Mei, IBM, China
Jörg Müller, Technische Universitaet Clausthal, Germany
Chieko Nakabasami, Toyo University, Japan
Adrian Paschke, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany
Alun Preece, Cardiff University, UK
Mark Proctor, Red Hat, UK
Maher Rahmouni, HP Labs, UK
Antonino Rotolo, University of Bologna, Italy
Markus Schacher, KnowGravity Inc, Switzerland
Marco Seiriö, ruleCore, Sweden
Jorge Sousa Pinto, Universidade do Minho, Portugal
Nenad Stojanovic, University of Karlsruhe, Germany
Umberto Straccia, ISTI-CNR, Italy
Terrance Swift, XSB Inc., USA
Jan Vanthienen, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Paul Vincent, TIBCO Software, USA
George Vouros, University of the Aegean, Greece
Kewen Wang, Griffith University, Australia
Segev Wasserkrug, IBM, Israel